Saltar al contenido

Call for Nominations: 2014 Antonio Zampolli Prize

The Zampolli Prize is a awarded every three years by The Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO) in recognition of an outstanding singular achievement in the Digital Humanities. The Prize is named in honor of Antonio Zampolli, one of the founders of the Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing (ALLC) and its president when he tragically died in 2003. The first award was given to Chad Gaffield in 2011.

The next Zampolli Prize will be given at the DH conference in 2014. The Award Committee, made up of members of the constituent organizations of ADHO, now invites nominations. These may be made by anyone with an interest in humanities computing and neither nominee nor nominator need be a member of any of the ADHO constituent organizations.

The nomination should consist of the following information: a description of the nominee's work and the reasons why this work is considered to be an outstanding contribution to the field of Digital Humanities. A list of bibliographic references to the nominee's work is desirable. Nominators are welcome to resubmit updated versions of unsuccessful nominations submitted in previous years.

The recipient of the award will receive 1000 GBP and is expected to give a keynote or plenary lecture (on a topic of their choice) at the 2014 annual Digital Humanities conference. ADHO will host the recipient as a guest of honor for the conference at which the Prize is awarded and the lecture is given – this means that all travel, accommodation and subsistence costs of the Prize recipient will be paid by the Alliance.

Nominations should be emailed to Karina van Dalen-Oskam (karina.van.dalen (at) no later than October 1st, 2012. The winner of the Award will be announced at the 2013 meeting and awarded at the 2014 meeting.

More information about the award can be found on the ADHO web site:

The ADHO Awards Committee,
Karina van Dalen-Oskam (chair)
Matt Jockers
Jon Saklofske
Øyvind Eide